BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS AND GEOLOGISTS DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. TITLE 16. DIVISIONS 5 AND 29.

MODIFIED TEXT

Changes that are the subject of this 15-day noticed public comment period are shown as <u>additions in</u> <u>double-underlined italics</u> and <u>deletions in double-strikethrough italics</u>.

407. Fees.

(a) All fees required by provisions of the code as implemented by the Board shall be transmitted by money order, bank draft, cash or check, payable to the Department of Consumer Affairs, at Sacramento.

(b) The following is the prescribed application fee for:

(1) Authority to use the title "structural engineer" $\frac{125}{125}$

(2) Authority to use the title "geotechnical engineer" $\frac{125}{175}$

(3) Licensure as a professional engineer \$125 \$175

(4) Licensure as a professional land surveyor \$125 \$175

(5) Certification as an engineer-in-training or as a land surveyor-in-training $\frac{50}{50}$

(e) (b) The following is the prescribed examination fee for state-specific examinations:

(1) California Special Civil Seismic Principles \$150 \$175

(2) California Special Civil Engineering Surveying \$150 \$175

(3) Geotechnical Engineering \$150 \$175

(4) California State-Specific Land Surveying \$150 \$175

(5) Traffic Engineering \$150 \$175

(d) (c) The two-year biennial renewal fee for a license that expires on or after July 1, 2012, January 1, 2020, July 1, 2020, July 1, 2020, July 1, 2021, shall be \$115 \$180. The two-year biennial renewal fee for a license that expires between October 1, 2005, and June 30, 2012, shall be \$125.

(e) The fee for an examination appeal filed pursuant to rule 444 shall be \$134.00.

(f) (d) The fee for each retired license shall be \$62.50; no \$75. No renewal fee or other fee shall be charged for the retired license. (As used in this subdivision, "license" includes certificate of registration or license as a professional engineer, licensure as a professional land surveyor, and certificates of authority to use the titles "structural engineer," "geotechnical engineer," "soil engineer," "soils engineer," or "consulting engineer.")

(e) The duplicate certificate fee prescribed in Section 410 shall be \$10.

(g) (f) Fees required under provisions of this rule transmitted through the United States mail shall be deemed filed on the date shown by the post office cancellation mark stamped on the envelope containing it, the fee or on the date mailed if satisfactory proof is made that mailing occurred on an earlier date.

(h) Renewal applications filed with the Board more than thirty (30) days after 12 midnight on the expiration date pursuant to the Professional Land Surveyors' Act and more than sixty (60) days after 12 midnight on the expiration date pursuant to the Professional Engineers Act and not accompanied by the prescribed delinquent penalty fee equal to 50 percent of the renewal fee shall be returned by the executive officer with a statement of the reason therefor.

(g) The delinquency fee for renewal of a license is 50% of the renewal fee in effect on the date of reinstatement.

(i)(h) Refund of fees submitted to the Board shall be made only as follows:

(1) Any application fees or penalties imposed and collected illegally, by mistake, inadvertence, or error shall be refunded in full.

(i) As used in this section, "license" includes certificate of registration or license as a professional engineer, licensure as a professional land surveyor, and certificates of authority to use the titles "structural engineer," "geotechnical engineer," "soil engineer," "soils engineer," "consulting engineer," or "photogrammetric surveyor."

Note: Authority cited: Sections 6716, 6799, 8710, and 8805, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 158, 6706.3, 6710, 6732, 6795, 6796, 6798, 6799, 8775.3, 8801, 8802, 8804, 8804.5, and 8805, Business and Professions Code.

410. Certificates.

(a) Certificates and licenses will be issued in the order in which the applicants qualify.

(b) A duplicate of a certificate issued in accordance with Section 6765 of the Professional Engineers Act or Section 8749 of the Professional Land Surveyors' Act shall be issued only to replace one lost, destroyed, or mutilated, upon a written request accompanied by a fee of \$10as prescribed in Section 407 and an affidavit verifying the loss, destruction, or mutilation of the previous certificate. The affidavit of lost, destroyed, or mutilated license must be submitted on a form provided by the Board.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 6716, 6765, and 8710, and 8749, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 119, 122, 6732.2, 6756, 6762, 6763, 6765, 6766, 6787, 6799, 8747, 8749, 8752, 8792 and 8805, Business and Professions Code; and Section 2015.5, Code of Civil Procedure.

3005. Fees.

(a) All fees required by provisions of the code and rules of the board shall be transmitted by money order, bank draft, or check, payable to the Department of Consumer Affairs.

(b) The following is the prescribed application fee for:

(1) Licensure as a Professional Geologist or a Professional Geophysicist \$250.00; \$175

(2) Certification as a specialty geologist or specialty geophysicist \$250.00; \$175

(3) Certification as a geologist-in-training \$75

(c) (b) The following is the prescribed examination fee for:

- (1) The Practice of Geology national examination \$250;
- (2) The California specific geologist examination \$150: \$175
- (3) The Fundamentals of Geology national examination \$150: \$200
- (4) Examination for licensure as a geophysicist \$100.00; \$175
- (5) Examination for certification as a specialty geologist or specialty geophysicist

<u>\$100.00.</u> <u>\$175</u>

(d) (c) The duplicate certificate fee $\frac{6.00}{100}$ shall be 100.

(e) The following is the prescribed renewal fee for:

(1) Licensure as a geologist or a geophysicist \$270.00;

(2) Certification as a specialty geologist or a specialty geophysicist \$67.50.

(d) The two-year biennial renewal fee for a license that expires on or after January 1, 2020, July 1, 2020, January 1, 2021, shall be \$180.

(f) (e) The delinquency fee for renewal of licensure as a geologist or geophysicist or certification as a specialty geologist or specialty geophysicist <u>a license</u> is 50% of the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date.

(g) When transmitted through the mail, fees

(f) Fees required under provisions of this rule <u>transmitted through the United States mail</u> shall be deemed filed on the date shown by the post office cancellation mark appearing on the envelope containing the fee<u>or on the date mailed if satisfactory proof is made that mailing occurred on an earlier date</u>.

(h) (g) The fee for the retired license shall be $\frac{52.50}{100}$ No renewal fee or other fee shall be charged for the retired license. As used in this subdivision, "license" includes certificate of registration or license as a professional geologist, certificate of registration as a registered certified specialty geologist, and certificate of registration as a professional geophysicist.

(h) Refund of fees submitted to the Board shall be made only as follows:

(1) Any application fees or penalties imposed and collected illegally, by mistake, inadvertence, or error shall be refunded in full.

(i) As used in this section, "license" includes certificate of registration or license as a professional geologist, certificate of registration or license as a professional geophysicist, and certificate of registration or license as a registered certified specialty geologist or specialty geophysicist.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 7818 and 7851 7887, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 158, 7846 7851, 7880, 7881, and 7887, Business and Professions Code.

3010. Certificates.

(a) Certificates and licenses will be issued in the order in which the applicants qualify.

(b) A duplicate of a certificate issued in accordance with Section 7853 of the Geologist and Geophysicist Act shall be issued only to replace one lost, destroyed, or mutilated, upon a written request accompanied by a fee as prescribed in Section 3005 and an affidavit verifying the loss, destruction, or mutilation of the previous certificate. The affidavit of lost, destroyed, or mutilated license must be submitted on a form provided by the Board.

Note: Authority cited: Section 7818 and 7854, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 119, 122, 7854, and 7887, Business and Professions Code.