
407. Fees. 
(a) All fees required by provisions of the code as implemented by the Board shall 

be transmitted by money order, bank draft, cash or check, payable to the Department of 
Consumer Affairs, at Sacramento. 
 (b) The following is the prescribed application fee for: 

(1) Authority to use the title “structural engineer”   $125  
(2) Authority to use the title “geotechnical engineer”   $125 
(3) Licensure as a professional engineer   $125 
(4) Licensure as a professional land surveyor   $125 
(5) Certification as an engineer-in-training or as a  
 land surveyor-in-training    $50 

(c) The following is the prescribed examination fee for state-specific 
examinations: 

 (1) California Special Civil Seismic Principles   $150 
 (2) California Special Civil Engineering Surveying   $150 
 (3) Geotechnical Engineering    $150 
 (4) California State-Specific Land Surveying   $150 
 (5) Traffic Engineering     $150 
(d) The two-year biennial renewal fee for a license that expires on or after July 1, 

2012, shall be $115.  The two-year biennial renewal fee for a license that expires 
between October 1, 2005, and June 30, 2012, shall be $125. 

(e) The fee for an examination appeal filed pursuant to Rule 444 shall be 
$134.00. 

(f) The fee for each retired license shall be $62.50; no renewal fee or other fee 
shall be charged for the retired license. (As used in this subdivision, "license" includes 
certificate of registration or license as a professional engineer, licensure as a 
professional land surveyor, and certificates of authority to use the titles "structural 
engineer," "geotechnical engineer," "soil engineer," "soils engineer," or "consulting 
engineer.") 

(g) Fees required under provisions of this rule transmitted through the United 
States mail shall be deemed filed on the date shown by the post office cancellation 
mark stamped on the envelope containing it, or on the date mailed if satisfactory proof is 
made that mailing occurred on an earlier date. 

(h) Renewal applications filed with the Board more than thirty (30) days after 12 
midnight on the expiration date pursuant to the Professional Land Surveyors’ Act and 
more than sixty (60) days after 12 midnight on the expiration date pursuant to the 
Professional Engineers Act and not accompanied by the prescribed delinquent penalty 
fee equal to 50 percent of the renewal fee, shall be returned by the executive officer 
with a statement of the reason therefor. 

(i) Refund of fees submitted to the Board shall be made only as follows:  
(1) Any application fees or penalties imposed and collected illegally, by 

mistake, inadvertence or error shall be refunded in full. 
 

 

 



 

 
 

 


