
Important Message for California Structural Engineer Applicants 
 
All California structural engineer applicants that pass the national NCEES 16 hour Structural 
Engineer exam administered in 2011 are required to pass the new state-specific California 
Structural Laws and Regulations exam (CSLRE) as a requirement for licensure.  The CSLRE 
will be made available to all eligible candidates following the Board’s receipt of a passing result 
from NCEES.   
 
When the Board receives the passing results, and confirms all other licensing requirements 
have been met, each applicant will be provided further instructions for taking the CSLRE.  The 
CSLRE will not be available to any applicant who is not successful in passing the entire national 
NCEES 16 hour Structural Engineer exam administered during 2011. 
 
Effective with the 2012 exam administrations, the requirement for California Structural Engineer 
applicants to take and pass a state-specific examination will be eliminated. 
 
Applicants for a California Structural Engineer license by comity must contact the Board to 
determine their requirements for licensure. 
 
Note: California law (Board Rule 426.10) requires that ALL applicants for licensing as a 
structural engineer in California must be a California licensed civil engineer.  Licensing as a civil 
engineer in California requires four examinations: 8-hour NCEES Civil Exam, 2.5-hour Seismic 
Principles Exam, 2.5-hour Engineering Surveying Exam, and the California Take Home Exam 
on the laws and rules.  These requirements are not waived for any applicants, including those 
licensed as a structural engineer in another state. 
 


