When you apply for licensure or certification, pay the appropriate license or certification application fee below. Fees must be submitted by check or money order made payable to "Department of Consumer Affairs". The application fee is not refundable after the Board has processed your application.
Engineer-In-Training (EIT)/Land-Surveyor-In-Training applicants (LSIT) - Effective with the October 2012 exam administration, do not submit an application fee for EIT/LSIT certification to the California Board until after you have passed the Fundamentals of Engineer (FE) exam or the Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam administered by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES).
|California Application Fees:||Fee|
|Licensure as a Professional Engineer:||$125|
|Licensure as a Professional Land Surveyor:||$125|
|Authority to use the title "Structural Engineer":||$125|
|Authority to use the title "Geotechnical Engineer":||$125|
|Certification as an Engineer-In-Training (EIT):||$50|
|Certification as a Land Surveyor-In-Training (LSIT):||$50|
If examinations are required for licensure, pay the appropriate exam and examination administration fees to either NCEES, Prometrics Inc., or the California Board. The state exam fee is not included in the application fee. A separate fee is required to take a state exam. If your application is not approved, state exam fees will be refunded. The application fee is not refundable. Administration fees for state exams shall be paid directly to Prometric Inc. when scheduling state exams. All national exam-related fees shall be paid directly to NCEES during the registration process.
Engineers and Land Surveyors
Depending on which exams you are taking, separate exam and exam administration fees may be necessary:
- When you apply for a license, include the appropriate state exam fee below with your application fee. Fees must be submitted by check or money order made payable to "Department of Consumer Affairs".
- If you're taking a national exam do not register and pay a separate exam fee to NCEES for required national exams until you've received a notification from the Board approving your application, register and pay a separate exam fee to NCEES for required national exams.
- If you do not pay the NCEES fee by their deadline you will not be admitted to take the national exam.
- If you are applying to take a state exam, an administration fee will be charged by Prometric Inc. at the time of scheduling.
|California State-Specific Exam Fees:||Fee|
|California Civil Seismic Principles:||$150|
|California Civil Engineering Surveying:||$150|
|California State-Specific Land Surveying:||$150|
|Exam Administration Fees:||Fee|
|All National Exams (NCEES)||Click here|
|All State Exams (Prometric Inc.)||Click here|
Based on a quarterly renewal date the licensee will need to pay the license fee below. A license is effective for two years from the renewal date.
|Renewal fees (expires between 10/1/05 - 6/30/12):||Fee|
|Professional Land Surveyor:||$125|
|Delinquent penalty fee:||$62.50|
|Renewal fees (expires on or after 7/1/12):||Fee|
|Professional Land Surveyor:||$115|
|Delinquent penalty fee:||$57.50|
Fees payable to the Board for particular services provided outside the normal fees associated with applications, exams, and licensure.
|Replacement Wall Certificate:||$10|